Please use the following button to make your donation to the work being done by the Southeast Conference.

Greg Mickelson: Vice President and COO of the Energy Division Alaska Power and Telephone Company

Greg has been employed by AP&T for over 37 years. Greg has more than 35 years’ experience in electrical system design, construction, construction management and management of power operations for a hydro-diesel grid. He has been responsible for the construction of two hydroelectric projects on Prince of Wales Island. During his lengthy tenure with Alaska Power & Telephone Company, Greg has served in a variety of positions prior to being appointed by the Board of Directors as Vice President of Power Operations in 2008.

Jodi Mitchell: Chief Executive Officer at inside Passage Electric Cooperative

An expert in rural energy systems, Jodi Mitchell has worked with Inside Passage Electric Cooperative (IPEC), known formerly as the Tlingit and Haida Regional Electrical Authority, for more than 20 years, assuming the role of chief executive officer/general manager in 2008. Prior to IPEC, she worked at Sealaska. She is currently the vice chair on the Sealaska Board. Mitchell is former chair and trustee of the Kootznoowoo Permanent Fund Settlement Trust, a director of the Kwaan Electric Transmission Intertie Cooperative, and a member of the Energy Committee for Southeast Conference.

Alec Mesdag: Director of Energy Service for AEL&P and SEC Energy Committee Chair

Alec is the chair of the Southeast Conference Energy Committee and board treasurer. Alec holds a B.S. in Environmental Science from Oregon State University. He currently serves as Vice President & Director of Energy Services for Alaska Electric Light & Power. In his current role he manages demand-side energy programs for the utility, helping to influence customer actions to optimize the use of energy in Juneau.

Doug Ward: Director of Shipyard Development for Vigor Alaska

Since 1994, Doug Ward has been Director of Shipyard Development for the Ketchikan Shipyard. The Ketchikan Shipyard is owned by the Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority (AIDEA) AND operated by Vigor through a long term public private partnership that includes the City and Borough of Ketchikan.  Vigor is currently building the first of two Alaska Class Ferries for the Alaska Marine Highway System.  Doug is co-founder of the Ketchikan Marine Industry Council (KMIC) and Maritime Works (MWs) formed to support the growth and expansion of Alaska’s maritime industrial base.

Carol Tuynman

Carol Tuynman is the Creative Director of Alaska Arts Confluence in Haines, Alaska. The organization works to inspire a culture of collaboration borough wide by focusing on downtown revitalization and building positive relationships between all people through creative placemaking initiatives such as art on Main Street, First Friday, and the Fort Seward Interpretive Walking Tour and Sculpture Garden.

Bobbie Meszaros

Bobbie Meszaros is Tlingit, of the Ch’áak’ (Eagle) moiety of the Sik’nax.ádi (Wolf Killer Whale) Clan from Shtax’héen Kwáan (Wrangell, Alaska) and Tseesk’iya dachxán (grandchild of the Tahltan Crow Clan). Bobbie works for Sealaska Heritage Institute as the new Development Officer. In this role, she is

Rick Harris

Rick Harris was the Executive Vice President of Sealaska until July 2014 when he retired after 34 years with Sealaska Corporation. During his tenure with Sealaska he had an active role in legislation and regulation development, environmental management and lobbying in both Alaska and in Washington D.C.

Joe Plesha: Trident Seafoods Chief Legal Officer

Joe Plesha has worked at Trident Seafoods Corporation for thirty years, first as its General Counsel (1987 through 2009) and since 2009 as Trident’s Chief Legal Officer. Mr. Plesha previously worked at a law firm in Seattle (1986 and 1987) and on Capitol Hill in Washington DC as Counsel to the Senate Commerce Committee covering fishing and oceans issues (1985 and 1986) and as a Legislative Assistant to U.S. Senator Frank Murkowski (1983 through 1985). Joe also worked each summer at a salmon cannery in Ketchikan while earning his undergraduate and legal degrees.

Maxine Thompson: Past Southeast Conference President (Angoon)

Maxine was born in Juneau and raised in Angoon in a traditional Tlingit environment by her father, Matthew Fred, Sr., and mother, Elizabeth (Bessie) Fred. Maxine earned her B.A. in sociology from University of Alaska, Fairbanks. In addition to serving as the Mayor of Angoon for two terms, Maxine has owned her own company, Angoon Oil, for more than 2 decades.

Rob Allen: Past Southeast Conference President (Sitka)

Rob is the CEO of the Sitka Community Hospital. Rob graduated from Harvard College in 1986 with a Bachelor of Arts in U.S.History and from Harvard Kennedy School of Government in 2007 with a Masters in Public Administration.

Rob grew up in Sitka. For many years he was President of the family business, Allen Marine Tours. From being a Captain to overseeing a fleet of vessels in Sitka, Juneau, and Ketchikan, Rob helped the company grow from a truly Mom and Pop operation to over 200 employees.