Please use the following button to make your donation to the work being done by the Southeast Conference.


Newsletter Signup

Liz Cornejo: Vice President, Community & External Affairs Constantine Mining

Liz Cornejo is a geologist who began her Southeast Alaska career at the Niblack Project on Prince of Wales Island. Liz has worked with Constantine at the Palmer Project since 2009 and now serves as the Company’s Manager of Exploration & Community. Liz travels frequently between the Vancouver office, the summer field office, and the Haines town office.

Deantha Crockett: Executive Director of the Alaska Miners Association

Deantha Crockett is the Executive Director of the Alaska Miners Association, which advocates for and promotes responsible mineral development in the state of Alaska. She was born and raised in Alaska and came to AMA from the Resource Development Council, where she led issues and policy for the mining and tourism industries for seven years.

Julie Decker: Alaska Fisheries Development Foundation (AFDF) Executive Director

In 1994, Julie Decker arrived in Ketchikan to work in a cannery during summer break from college, and she has worked in Alaska’s seafood industry ever since.   Her work experience has been varied and includes: deckhand, diver, vessel owner, and management of both for-profit and non-profits. 

Jim Clark: Timber Attorney

From 1973 to 2002 Clark represented the timber and mining clients in Southeast Alaska. He was Alaska counsel for Alaska Pulp Corporation in Sitka, Alaska. In that capacity he handled environmental matters and natural resource litigation. He was involved in the State and Federal permitting for the Pogo Mine near Delta, Alaska, the Fort Know Mine near Fairbanks, Alaska and the environmental “cleanup” of the pulp mill after it closed in 1994.

Devany Plentovich: Program Manager for Biomass and Combined Heat and Power for the Alaska Energy Authority

Devany Plentovich has spent the last 8 years as the Program Manager for Biomass and Combined Heat and Power for the Alaska Energy Authority, focusing on project development in the 200+ rural communities that are not tied to the Anchorage-Fairbanks power grid.   She has a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering and a Master’s Degree in Environmental Science and Policy.  Devany’s previous experience includes 22 years with a consumer products corporation where she managed projects in biomass co-generation, environmental sustainability, and product development. 

Ken Alper: Tax Division Director, Alaska Department of Revenue

Ken Alper is the Tax Division Director for the Alaska Department of Revenue, having been appointed to that position by Governor Bill Walker in 2014. In addition to administering the division and the 25 tax programs it oversees, he is part of the administration’s policy team for fiscal restructuring. He was the primary presenter for HB247 and HB111, the two Oil and Gas Tax Credit reform efforts that passed in 2016 and 2017, respectively.

Susan Bell: McDowell Group

McDowell Group Principal Susan Bell manages a wide array projects including community development and planning assignments, market demand assessments, feasibility studies for public and private investments, public opinion research, and stakeholder outreach.

Jim Calvin: McDowell Group

McDowell Group Principal Jim Calvin has 30 years of experience in Alaska conducting economic and socioeconomic impact analyses, benefit/cost studies, market assessments, and business feasibility studies. Jim’s project experience includes more than 30 research and consulting assignments related to ferry service in Alaska, including private and public ferry system feasibility studies, travel demand studies, and analyses of the local and statewide economic impact of AMHS.

Jessie Huff: USDA Rural Development Energy Programs, Program Manager

Jessie Huff, works as Alaska’s Energy Coordinator for the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Rural Development, headquartered in Palmer.

USDA Rural Development provides financing and technical assistance for economic development, housing and infrastructure projects in rural Alaska.